Introductions....?

Tell us about your interest in Taoism. How did you find the Tao and what it means to you? Are you a practitioner? What you hope to attain through your practice?

Moderator: laotan

Seantzu72

Introductions....?

Post by Seantzu72 »

Hello everyone! My name is Sean. I have been studying and following Tao philosophy for 18 years, and am very interested to know what directions "the way" has taken everyone. I live in the suburbs of Chicago. Anyone else?

Lance

Re: Introductions....?

Post by Lance »

Hi, Sean. I live in Portland, OR. To make a long story short, I went from a Christian with an interest in other religions and philosophies to Buddhism to Taoism. Most of my friends and family are still Christian (except for a few "neo-pagan" friends at work) but that's fine with me. We all still get along great.

NonTien

Post by NonTien »

I'm from Schaumburg - small world, ain't it?

AndyM

Post by AndyM »

Hi All,

I'm from a small town in Scotland called Kinross. I've trying to follow the way for just over 3 years having been drawn to Taoism by my Tai Chi practices.

Danae

Post by Danae »

Hi Sean and everyone,
I live in a suburb of St. Louis, Missouri. My interest in Taoism started about 3 years ago. I had been teaching myself Tai Chi and was also interested in finding answers that Christianity couldn't provide. I decided to find out what religions existed before Christianity. That lead me to Buddhism, Confucianism, a few other ones and Taoism. The Taoist teachings fit me well, much better than Christianity ever did.
Danae

laotan

Post by laotan »

AndyM wrote:Hi All,

I'm from a small town in Scotland called Kinross. I've trying to follow the way for just over 3 years having been drawn to Taoism by my Tai Chi practices.
What you mean by "follow the way"? Is there any Taoist practice you followed or what?

laotan

Post by laotan »

Danae wrote:Hi Sean and everyone,